Our Shared History

On Sunday 4 April 2021, Logos Christian Church merged with Padstow Congregational Church.  This was a unanimous decision by members of both churches which ultimately sought the glory of God by anchoring and strengthening the gospel witness in the Padstow Community.

It was later unanimously agreed by the merged Padstow Congregational Church to adopt a new name. 

Thus, we became Trinity Christian Church.

Logos Christian Church

Logos Christian Church (LCC) was a church plant established by Emmanuel Baptist Church, Glenwood and was spiritually constituted as a church on 26 November 2017.  Elders Steve Mayo and Robert Ayoub were sent out to lead this new ministry.

In its short history, the people of LCC have gathered to worship God at a variety of different locations across Sydney and are incredibly thankful for the support it has received on its journey.  Places LCC have met to worship include Smithfield Baptist Church, Auburn Baptist Church, Lidcombe Berala Baptist Church, Grace Christian Church, Panania and the Whitlam Theatre, Revesby.

Padstow Congregational Church

Padstow Congregational Church (PCC) was established 1914 as a member of the Congregational Union of Australia, later the Fellowship of Congregational Churches (FCC). The church was first known as the Congregational Church at Salt Pan and later the Padstow Park Church. The vision of PCC has been to see unbelievers locally and globally come to magnify Jesus as they come to know Him and that Christians would magnify Jesus more, whether in life or death.

The FCC is a conservative denomination that stands within the evangelical, Reformed and Congregational traditions, with one of its key distinctives being the autonomy of the local church.  The FCC’s mission is to be a dynamic fellowship of evangelical churches, with each Church effectively reaching its local community with the Gospel and collectively, impacting our nation and the world for Christ.

The Congregational Union of Australia (CUA) was established in circa 1830 as a congregational denomination stemming from the Congregational Church in England.  It was classified as Protestant with a Calvinistic orientation and Congregational polity. As Congregationalism grew, however, so too did its tendency towards theological liberalism. As a result, many churches went into decline. As early as the 1930s, talks began regarding the possibility of a union between Congregational, Methodist and Presbyterian churches.

The CUA was dissolved in 1977 when the Uniting Church in Australia was formed, representing a merger between most churches which comprised the CUA, Methodist Church of Australasia and the Presbyterian Church of Australia. 

The FCC was subsequently formed by churches who chose not to join the Uniting Church in Australia and was later declared to be the legal successor of the NSW CUA by Act of the NSW Parliament.

Scroll to Top